Pakistan vs India: Five Thrilling T20 Clashes Between Rivals

Photo of author

By imty4

Lahore (Pakistan News Online) Pakistan and India are set to face off tomorrow at the New York Stadium. However, prior to this, Pakistan and India have clashed 12 times, with India winning 9 matches while Pakistan has secured only 3 victories.

According to an AFP report, due to political tensions between Pakistan and India, the two countries only compete in International Cricket Council (ICC) tournaments. The last encounter between the two teams was in the T20 World Cup 2022 held in Australia, where India defeated Pakistan in Melbourne.

Here are the details of the 5 most thrilling T20 matches between Pakistan and India:

First Match

The first T20 match between Pakistan and India took place in 2007 in Durban, South Africa. The match ended without a result, and since the ICC had not yet introduced the Super Over, the outcome was decided by a bowl-out (similar to penalty shootouts in football, where bowlers attempt to hit the stumps, and the team that hits the stumps more times wins).

Pakistan scored 141 runs for the loss of 9 wickets, and India matched the score. In the bowl-out, Indian captain MS Dhoni smartly chose non-regular bowlers Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who successfully hit the stumps. In contrast, Pakistan’s top bowlers Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, and Shahid Afridi missed the stumps.

 This was the only match in T20 World Cup history decided by a bowl-out, before the ICC introduced the Super Over.

Second Match

Ten days after the group stage match in the 2007 T20 World Cup, the two teams faced each other in the final in Johannesburg. Pakistan’s batting line-up faltered as usual, and although the fans and the Pakistani team lost hope, Misbah-ul-Haq stood firm. In the last over, Pakistan needed 13 runs to win.

After a wide and a dot ball, Misbah hit a powerful six, leaving Pakistan needing 6 runs from 4 balls to win their first T20 World Cup.

Misbah attempted a scoop shot on the third ball, but the ball went high and was caught by Sreesanth at short fine leg, dashing Pakistan’s hopes as India won by 5 runs to become T20 World Cup champions.

Third Match

In the T20 World Cup group match held in the UAE, India was favored against Pakistan, but Shaheen Shah Afridi dashed Indian hopes.

Shaheen dismissed Rohit Sharma on the first ball and then sent KL Rahul back, reducing India’s top order to 31 runs. Virat Kohli scored 57 runs before being dismissed by Shaheen. Despite the early wickets, India managed 151 runs.

 However, Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan played a historic innings of 0-152, with Babar scoring 68 and Rizwan 79 runs not out, leading Pakistan to its first and memorable T20 World Cup victory against India.

Fourth Match

During the 2022 Asia Cup, Pakistan and India clashed in Dubai. India, thanks to Virat Kohli’s 60-run innings, set a target of 181 runs.

However, disciplined bowling by Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan prevented the target from growing larger.

Chasing the target, Pakistan’s batting line faltered again, but Mohammad Nawaz played an aggressive 42 runs off 20 balls, leading Pakistan to a 5-wicket victory with one ball to spare.

Fifth Match

The traditional rivals last faced each other in the 2022 T20 World Cup group match in Melbourne.

Pakistan scored 159 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Chasing the target, India lost 4 wickets for 31 runs. Virat Kohli emerged as the hero, partnering with Hardik Pandya to form a 113-run partnership. Kohli’s unbeaten 83 off 53 balls led India to victory.

Leave a Comment